Website Manager

Pop Warner Little Scholars YOUR FUTURE BEGINS HERE!

2020 Pop Warner College Football Award Winner


LANGHORNE, PA – University of Notre Dame’s Ian Book, team captain and one of the nation’s top quarterbacks, today was named winner of the 2020 Pop Warner National College Football Award. 

Established in 2010, the award recognizes a senior who shows exceptional leadership on the field, in the classroom and in the community. 
On the field, Book has captained Notre Dame to a perfect 10-0 record so far this season, making him the all-time winningest quarterback in Irish history with 30 career wins. As a dual-threat quarterback, he has completed 181 passes for 2,382 yards and 15 touchdowns and rushed for 465 yards and eight touchdowns this season. 
Book earned his degree in marketing from Notre Dame’s Mendoza College of Business, one of the nation’s top-ranked business schools, and is now working toward a graduate degree.
Book has been an active volunteer, giving back to the community. For the past four years he has participated in the annual Shop With A Player Christmas event, hosting underserved youth from the local St. Joseph County to go holiday shopping. He has also volunteered with the Kelly Cares Foundation, running a football camp for women who survived breast cancer, and he joined the Notre Dame football team to play in a charity fundraiser softball game against local first responders.

In high school, Book served as a host for “Evening of Dreams,” a Senior Ball for local youth with disabilities, and was a regular volunteer at the local El Dorado County Foodbank, serving as the “Poster Boy” for the annual Fill The Bowl event. He was the top fundraiser for the Sacramento Shrine Bowl (Shriners Hospital) in the Kraft Fight Hunger Bowl, and was a volunteer at St. Anthony’s Foundation food shelter in San Francisco.
“Playing college football has been a dream of mine since fourth grade when I started playing Pop Warner. It’s where I learned the importance of hard work, sacrifice and commitment to achieve a team goal,” said Book. “I want to thank Pop Warner for this amazing award. It is truly humbling to be representing Notre Dame and be honored by such an iconic organization. I would like to thank my teammates and coaches. I wouldn’t be here today without them. Go Irish!”
“Ian has led Notre Dame not only to a great season under the most trying circumstances but throughout an historic career as the school’s winningest QB. On top of that, he has demonstrated exceptional leadership on and off the field. What stands out the most is Ian's dedication to performing his best at the highest level of academics and athletics,” said Jon Butler, Executive Director of Pop Warner Little Scholars.

“Ian has shown our Pop Warner student-athletes the importance of hard work, perseverance, teamwork and a commitment to school, team and community. We’re honored to have him represent Pop Warner as our 2020 College Football Award winner.”
Last year’s winner was former USC wide receiver Michael Pittman, Jr. 
The other 2020 finalists were:
●    Baylor University Linebacker Terrel Bernard   
●    University of Utah Linebacker Devin Lloyd
●    Stanford University Safety Malik Antoine
●    University of Alabama Tight End Miller Forristall
●    University of Kentucky Tackle Landon Young
“This has been a difficult year for everyone and yet it’s been inspiring to see how so many student-athletes continue to shine on the field, in the community and in the classroom. In many ways, this year has required the values that so many of our recipients and Pop Warner athletes possess -- teamwork, perseverance and resilience,” said Butler. “We have once again been moved by an amazing group of nominees who have represented themselves, their universities and their communities with distinction.”

2020 National College Football Award Finalists



About the Pop Warner College Football Award

The Pop Warner National College Football Award recognizes a college graduating senior who has made a difference on the field, in the classroom and in his community, and serves as a role model to Pop Warner’s young student athletes.

Pop Warner created the award in 2010 to honor a college player who has continued to demonstrate Pop Warner’s fundamental values of sportsmanship, academics and community service at the next level.

The award is presented annually in December.

2019 Recipient Michael Pittman, Jr.

Previous Award Recipients

Previous recipients of the Pop Warner College Football Award:

  • 2019: Michael Pittman Jr. (USC WR)
  • 2018: CJ Conrad (Kentucky WR)
  • 2017: Braxton Berrios (Miami WR)
  • 2016: Evan Engram (Ole Miss TE)
  • 2015: Brandon Chubb (Wake Forest LB)
  • 2014: Jordan Richards (Stanford S)
  • 2013: Gary Bush (Purdue University WR)
  • 2012: Sean Renfree (Duke University QB)
  • 2011: Chase Minnifield (Virginia DB)
  • 2010: Prince Amukamara (Nebraska DB)

About Pop Warner Little Scholars

Founded in 1929 and headquartered in Langhorne, PA, Pop Warner Little Scholars is the nation’s oldest youth football, cheerleading and dance organization and the only youth sports organization that emphasizes academics as a prerequisite for participation. Pop Warner participants enjoy the opportunity to learn and compete in their sports in an atmosphere that emphasizes fun, safety, academics and character. For more information on Pop Warner and its programs visit or follow Pop Warner on Twitter at


Pop Warner Little Scholars

P.O. Box 307 
Langhorne, Pennsylvania 19047

Phone: 215-752-2691
Fax: 215-752-2879

Pop Warner
Pop Warner Cheer