Website Manager

Pop Warner Little Scholars YOUR FUTURE BEGINS HERE!

News Detail


May, 2023

Pop Warner Celebrates 2022-2023 All-American Scholars, Recognizes Award Winners

More than 4,400 youth student athletes nationwide have been named All-American Scholars by Pop Warner Little Scholars, the nation’s preeminent youth football and cheer organization and the only one with established academic standards. These student-athletes achieved the honor by earning a 96% GPA or higher. 

Additionally, Pop Warner announced its 2023 National Award Recipients, recognizing four individuals and organizations across collegiate and professional sports for their contributions to the community and commitment to athletics, youth, education and health. The awardees include:

  • Humanitarian Award: Buffalo Bills training staff
  • Trailblazer Award: Diana Flores, Mexico women’s national flag football team captain and quarterback  
  • NFL Team of The Year Award: Seattle Seahawks
  • College Football Player of the Year Award: Kenneth Horsey, University of Kentucky left guard

“We are proud to celebrate the incredible achievements of our young scholars who live out Pop Warner’s values of athletic and academic excellence every day. These student-athletes are the leaders of tomorrow,” said Jon Butler, Pop Warner Little Scholars’ executive director. “We are also proud to celebrate the leadership of our national award recipients and honor those who are paving the way for the next generation. This year’s group speaks to the power of turning adversity into advocacy and opportunity. We’re excited to celebrate their stories and service.”

The Buffalo Bills training staff is presented with the Pop Warner Humanitarian Award, given annually to an individual or group of individuals who demonstrate life-changing humanitarian principles while serving as an inspiration to youth in sports. During a Monday Night Football game in January, the Bills’ training staff performed urgent medical treatment that helped save Bills’ player Damar Hamlin’s life. The training staff’s heroic efforts, led by Denny Kellington, represent the critical role athletic trainers play in keeping players safe and have led to a greater understanding and urgency of health and safety in sports at every level. 

Diana Flores, an emblem of female empowerment and the star of this year’s “Run With It” NFL Super Bowl commercial, is awarded the Pop Warner Trailblazer Award, given to an individual who has broken barriers in their field of work and whose actions and contributions provide new possibilities for the next generation. Starting at the age of eight, Flores’ passion and perseverance earned her a spot as the only girl on the NFL Flag team in Mexico. By 16, she made the Mexico Women's Flag National Team, playing in the first of four Flag Football World Championships and eventually leading the team to a gold medal at the 2022 World Games. Through her athletic and academic achievements, Flores is pioneering the way for the next generation of great female athletes and driving the future of football forward. 

The Seattle Seahawks organization is presented with the Pop Warner NFL Team of the Year Award, given annually to the franchise that has demonstrated commitment to its community and support of today’s youth. Through robust community service programs that support social justice, the military and mental health, in addition to individual player initiatives that create positive, personal impact, the Seahawks have woven community service and youth empowerment into the fabric of their organization. The Seahawks are represented by a long list of current players and legends, including Shaquem Griffin, Doug Baldwin, Tyler Lockett, Geno Smith and many more, who embody the values of Pop Warner and serve as outstanding role models for young athletes everywhere. 

Kenneth Horsey is Pop Warner’s 2022-23 College Football Player of the Year, which is presented to a player who exhibits leadership on the field, in the classroom and in the community. Horsey, a key cog on Kentucky's "Big Blue Wall," helped the school advance to a record six straight bowl games and win four out of the last five. His on-field accomplishments are a testament to his drive, resilience and perseverance off the field. In 2018, he underwent open-heart surgery, which set him on a path of health advocacy and humanitarianism, and ultimately earned him the Finn Collier Service Award, Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award, a Wuerffel Trophy nomination and a spot on both the Allstate AFCA National Good Works Team and the SEC Community Service Team.

Use #PopWarnerAllAmerican to celebrate this year’s All-American Scholars and National Award recipients on social, and visit to purchase All-American Scholars merchandise.


Pop Warner Little Scholars

P.O. Box 307 
Langhorne, Pennsylvania 19047

Pop Warner
Pop Warner Cheer