Website Manager

Pop Warner Little Scholars YOUR FUTURE BEGINS HERE!

News Detail


Apr, 2023

13th Annual National College Football Award Finalists

Presented to a senior who leads on the field, in the classroom and in the community

LANGHORNE, PA – Pop Warner Little Scholars, the nation’s preeminent youth football organization, has announced three finalists for its 13th Annual Pop Warner College Football Award. The award was established in 2010 to recognize a senior who has made a difference on the field, in the classroom and in his community, and serves as a role model to Pop Warner’s young student athletes.
The finalists for the 2022-23 season are: 

  • Jake Bobo, UCLA wide receiver: Leading the Bruins with receptions and receiving yards on the field, a performance good enough to rank 10th among all Pac-12 Conference receivers, Bobo also led off the field, earning the Bruins’ first spot on the CSC Academic All-America® football team in over a decade for outstanding academic success. Bobo, a grad transfer to UCLA from Duke, received an economics degree as a Blue Devil and is enrolled in the graduate program in Transformative Coaching and Leadership at UCLA.
  • Anders Carlson, Auburn University kicker: Carlson, a second-team All-American in 2020, finished his career with the Tigers ranked second in Auburn career scoring with 410 points (fifth in SEC records), third in career PAT (173) and second with 79 career field goals made. Carlson was the only FBS player this year selected as a member of the National Football Foundation scholar-athlete class and the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. He was also a member of the SEC Community Service team and a finalist for the Coach Wooden Citizenship Cup for his mentorship and leadership extending well beyond athletics and the state of Alabama. 
  • Kenneth Horsey, University of Kentucky left guard: A key cog on Kentucky's "Big Blue Wall," an offensive line recognized for the Joe Moore Award four of the last five seasons, Horsey has helped Kentucky advance to a school-record six straight bowl games and win four out of the last five. Horsey’s on field accomplishments are a testament to his drive, resilience and perseverance off of the field. In 2018, Horsey underwent open-heart surgery, which set him on a path of health advocacy and humanitarianism, ultimately earning him the Finn Collier Service Award, Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award, a Wuerffel Trophy nomination and a spot on both the Allstate AFCA National Good Works Team and the SEC Community Service Team. Horsey is currently working on his masters degree in social work.

“There’s no exact equation for success, but we’ve always believed that student-athletes who play hard, work hard and do the right thing have the foundation to excel,” said Jon Butler, executive director of Pop Warner Little Scholars. “This special group of finalists are a perfect embodiment of that belief. They have succeeded on the field, in the classroom and created positive impact in their communities. They are outstanding role models for our young Pop Warner student-athletes.” 
recipients have included, Prince Amukamara (Nebraska), Chase Minnifield (Virginia), Sean Renfree (Duke), Gary Bush (Purdue), Jordan Richards (Stanford), Brandon Chubb (Wake Forest), Evan Engram (Mississippi), Braxton Berrios (Miami), CJ Conrad (Kentucky), Michael Pittman, Jr. (USC), Ian Book (University of Notre Dame) and Hicks. 

About Pop Warner Little Scholars, Inc.

Founded in 1929 and headquartered in Langhorne, PA, Pop Warner Little Scholars is the nation’s oldest youth football, cheerleading and dance organization and the only youth sports organization that emphasizes academics as a prerequisite for participation. Pop Warner participants enjoy the opportunity to learn and compete in their sports in an atmosphere that emphasizes fun, safety, academics and character. For more information on Pop Warner and its programs visit or follow Pop Warner on Twitter. Instagram or Facebook


Pop Warner Little Scholars

P.O. Box 307 
Langhorne, Pennsylvania 19047

Pop Warner
Pop Warner Cheer