Citizen Science Cheerleading Project

 > Pop Warner > Cheer & Dance > Citizen Science Cheerleading Project

Science Cheer LogoScience Cheerleader is making it easy for Pop Warner cheerleaders and coaches to connect with Science Cheerleader activities and their members.

Pop Warner Cheerleaders can practice several cheers and measure their heart rates, share their own cheers and activities, and also work with a local Science Cheerleader to meet with your team. Below are some ways you can connect with the Science Cheerleaders:

1)  Invite a local Science Cheerleader to meet with your team to:

  • Get tips from the pros on crowd engagement
  • Discover what it takes to be a professional cheerleader
  • Learn about science and technology careers
  • Hear their inspiring stories of being professional cheerleaders and scientists/engineers
  • Lead a science cheer with your team!

2) Incorporate one or more of the Science Cheerleader Cheers at your next event or game (invite a Science Cheerleader to join you!):

Click Here to download the "Science Cheerleader Cheers" full document.

3) Create your own Science Cheerleader Cheer and share it on the Science Cheerleader and Pop Warner Facebook pages!

4) Encourage cheerleaders to participate in "citizen science" activities.

5) Share videos and pictures of your Science Cheerleader activities on the Science Cheerleader and Pop Warner Facebook pages!

Smart Phone Apps:

DROID: Instant Heart Rate by AZumio Inc.
iPhone: Instant Heart Rate by Modula d.o.o.
iPhone: iSeismometer by ObjectGraph LLC

Find a Science Cheerleader in Your Area:

Set up fun Science Cheerleading projects by contacting your local Science Cheerleaders.  Click on Name for more information on that Science Cheerleader

Arizona (Phoenix):

Marcie Ford - marcieford04@yahoo.com
Arizona Cardinals (former)
Electrical Engineer

Rani McLenon - rani@goingproentertainment.com
Arizona Cardinals (former)
Certified personal trainer 

California (Los Angeles):

Taylor Hooks - tays1210@yahoo.com
Los Angeles Clippers (former)
MRI Technologist

Marcie Ford - marcieford04@yahoo.com
Arizona Cardinals (former) Now lives in LA
Electrical Engineer

San Francisco (Bay Area)

Thera Santos - thera.santos@gmail.com
Golden State Warriors
Electrical Engineer

Colorado (Denver)

Lorin OToole - lorinotoole@gmail.com
Washington Wizards (former)
B.S. Environmental & M.S. in Health & Exercise Science

Connecticut:
 
Heather Crockett - hcrockett.w@gmail.com
Cincinatti Bengals (former)
Dentist, Yale graduate degree

Vienna Mattiolo - viennamia@sbcglobal.net
New England Patriots (former)
Certified Fitness Trainer & Shelton Pop Warner Cheerleading Head Coach

Sandra Shakalov Johnson - sandrajohn27@gmail.com
Buffalo Bills (former)
Personal trainer/educator/ physical therapist program

Illinois (Chicago):

Emily Salans - esalans@gmail.com
Chicago Rush
Master’s Degree in organic chemistry
 
Indiana (Indianapolis):

Kristin McKinney - kikiann1965@comcast.net
Indianapolis Colts (former)
Certified Medical Assistant

Georgia (Atlanta):
 
Jessica Tamburro - Eastatlantadance@yahoo.com
Atlanta Hawks (former)
Science Teacher

Sara Chaney - chaneysg@gmail.com
Atlanta Hawks
Medical speech pathologist and endoscopist

Kristy Bearden – falconskristy@gmail.com
Atlanta Falcons
Chemist

Maryland (Baltimore):

Joanna Tippett - joanna.tippett@urs.com
Baltimore Ravens
Environmental scientist/Geologist

Massachusetts (Boston):

Jennifer Snipes - Jennifermsnipes@gmail.com
Atlanta Falcons (former)
Working on advanced degree, Physicians Assistant

Missouri (St. Louis):

Crystal Jones - cj17142@gmail.com
St Louis Rams
Chemist

Kelly Ott – kott@icu-usa.com
St. Louis Rams (former)
Registered Nurse/Clinical educator

North Carolina (Charlotte):

Brooke McCray - brmccray@hotmail.com
Charlotte Bobcats
Engineer

Hillsborough
 
Lindsey Yoder – lindsey_yoder@merck.com
Carolina Panthers
Automation Engineer

Pennsylvania (Philadelphia):

Kelly Nickischer - kcrits@aol.com
Philadelphia Eages (former)
Science Teacher

Allison Grosso - allisongrosso@gmail.com
Philadelphia Eagles (former)
Chemistry/Biology degrees (Medical sales)

Erin Donnelly - endonnelly@gmail.com
St. Louis Rams (former)
Several degrees, completing doctorate in psychology

Tennessee:

Melissa Hodges - melissa.l.hodges@gmail.com
TN Titans (former)
Neuro researcher

Texas (Houston):

Ada Abanobi -  a_abanobi a_abanobi@yahoo.com
Houston Texans (former)
Emergency Room Nurse

Summer Williams - flywithsummer@yahoo.com
Houston Texans (former)
Space engineer, NASA

Virginia (Richmond):

Stacy Andrews - stay.c.andrews@gmail.com
Richmond Raiders

If one is not listed, to locate a Science Cheerleader in your area please contact Darlene Cavalier at Darlene@sciencecheerleader.com.