Pop Warner News

 > Pop Warner > About Us >  Pop Warner News > PWLS Accepting 2015 College Football Award Nominations

PWLS Accepting 2015 College Football Award Nominations

National award presented to a graduating senior for athletic, academic and community leadership.

Richards_2014awardLANGHORNE, PA – Pop Warner Little Scholars, Inc., the nation’s oldest and most prominent youth football, cheer and dance organization, is accepting nominations for the 6th Annual Pop Warner College Football Award.

The award recognizes a graduating senior who has played youth football and has made a difference on the field, in the classroom and in the community as a college athlete.
“We created the Pop Warner College Football Award to honor a student-athlete whose approach to football, academics and community stand as a model for young people to emulate,” said Jon Butler, executive director of Pop Warner Little Scholars.

“As the only national youth sports organization that requires players to meet academic standards, we’re proud to have recognized to date five outstanding collegiate players who has achieved exemplary success on the field, in the classroom and in the community.”

The Pop Warner College Football Award recipient has played youth football and is a graduating senior who continues to demonstrate the organization’s fundamental values of sportsmanship, academics and community service at the next level.

The inaugural award was presented to former University of Nebraska cornerback and current New York Giant Prince Amukamara. Subsequent recipients were former University of Virginia and current Washington Redskins cornerback Chase Minnifield, former Duke University and current Atlanta Falcons quarterback Sean Renfree, former Purdue University wide receiver Gary Bush, and current New England Patriots and former Stanford University safety Jordan Richards.

Last year’s finalists included Richards, former University of Oregon and current Tennessee Titans quarterback Marcus Mariota, former University of Nebraska and current Detroit Lions running back Ameer Abdullah, and former University of Florida and current Denver Broncos offensive lineman Max Garcia.  

Nominations are due to Pop Warner on October 23 and the award will be presented at the 59th annual Pop Warner Super Bowl in December. Hundreds of college players are considered for the award each year.

Click Here for the College Football Award Nomination Form

Media Contacts:
Brittany Borsanyi
bborsanyi@ctpboston.com, 561-758-7289

Brian Heffron                
bheffron@ctpboston.com, 781-799-9568